Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Clearing the Confusion About Vegan Wines


In simple terms, the vegan wines are vegetarian-friendly wines which do not make use of any so-called ‘fining agents’. These agents are used in the wine-making process with the prime objective of removing the haze producing molecules. Most common agents used for this purpose are derived from animals and are animal products such as albumin of egg, animal protein gelatin, milk protein casein or isinglass fish bladder protein. Now, all wines made by using these fining agents are still considered organic because these are precipitated out at the end of the wine making process and do not form part of the wine as such.
Now, vegan wines are the ones which do not make use of these animal products even for fining purpose. In its place, the wineries make use of the clay-based agents such as bentonite or an alternative as activated charcoal. You might be thinking what is the need for fining the wine after all and why to use these agents? The reason is that most of wines are very hazy and these do not look good in this state. Wine drinkers love the clear wines and for this reason, these need to use the filing agents. If it were not for these agents, the wine companies will have reduced profitability as people would not be inclined to drink the wine. Also, wines can develop a clearer profile on their own but it takes these a lot of time which might not be commercially viable for wineries.

Are Organic Wines Vegan?

There is much confusion on whether the organic wines arevegan or not. This confusion can be cleared with this understanding that the organic wines are derived from vineyards that are known to practice organic farming. However, since the animal products could still be used, these are still called organic since these agents are not a part of the end product and are precipitated out. But, yes, the organic wines can be classified further as vegan-friendly for the benefit of strictly vegetarian people. 

No comments:

Post a Comment