Thursday, 4 August 2016

Winners of 2016 the Halliday Wine Companion Awards

The much awaited Halliday Wine Companion Awards have been announced for the year 2016. Considered to be one of the best wines awards in Australia as these come from a famed critique and wine maker, Mr James Halliday, the following winemakers, wines and wineries have been the winners this year.

6 Category Awards
Winemaker of the Year - Sarah Crowe from Yarra Yering, Yarra Valley, Victoria
Winery of the Year - Mount Pleasant, New South Wales
Wine of the Year - Best’s Thompson        Family Great Western Shiraz 2014
Best Value Winery – Larry Cherubino Wines
Best New Winery - Bondar Wines, McLaren Vale
Dark Horse of the Year – Arlewood Estate, Western Australia (Margaret River)

Awards for 10 Best Varietals
Sparkling Wine: House of Arras Blanc des Blancs 2005, 97 points.
Riesling Wine: Seppelt Drumborg Vineyard Riesling 2015, 98 points.
Semillon Wine: Mount Pleasant Lovedale Hunter Valley Semillon 2009, 98 points.
Chardonnay Wine: Leeuwin Estate Art Series Margaret River Chardonnay 2013, 98 points.
Sauvignon Blanc Wine: Geoff Weaver Ferus Lenswood Sauvignon Blanc 2014, 97 points.
Pinot Noir Wine: Bass Phillip Premium Pinot Noir 2014, 98 points.
Other Reds: Hickinbotham Clarendon Vineyard The Peake Cabernet Shiraz 2013, 98 points.
Shiraz Wine: Best's Wines Thomson Family Great Western Shiraz 2014, 99 points.
Cabernet Sauvignon Wine: Yarra Yering Carrodus Cabernet Sauvignon 2014, 99 points.
Fortified: 1916 Seppeltsfield 100 Year Old Para Liqueur, 100 points.

No comments:

Post a Comment